skip navigation

Tigers Split at Monticello Triangular

By Delano Wrestling, 01/06/17, 10:15AM CST


Delano defeated Monticello and lost close to Litchfield

JANUARY 5, 2017 - MONTICELLO, MN - The Delano Varsity and Junior Varsity wrestlers travelled to Monticello for a triangular with two fellow Section 6AA opponents. In their first dual, the Tigers dropped an extremely close dual to the Litchfield Dragons 33-29. They rebounded with a 58-18 win over the Monticello Magic. 

The dual with Litchfield featured a rematch of last season's Section 6AA semifinal dual. The dual was close the entire way, and had seven lead-changes - with Delano leading three different times and the Dragons leading four times, including the final. At 113, Reier Sjomeling got the Tigers their first lead with a 14-3 major decision win. At 126, Tanner Kroells won by an 8-4 decision to pull the Tigers within two. After a forfeit at 132, Litchfield led 15-7.  Ethan Quast and Tucker Sjomeling both came up with big pins to put the team ahead 19-15. At 170, Jacob McDonald recorded a huge come from behind 8-7 win. The Hajas brothers each recorded big wins - with Edward winning by a 4-1 decision and Steven winning by an 18-4 major decision. 

In the final dual of the night, Delano bounced back and controlled the match with Monticello right from the start. The Tigers won seven of the first eight matches, jumping out to a 40-6 lead.  In the first four matches, Tyson Kroells won by major decision and then Reier Sjomeling, Carson Tschudi, and Tanner Kroells all  won by pins. After giving up a forfeit, Delano went back on another roll through the middle weights. Tucker Sjomeling won by pin, Ethan Quast won by forfeit, and Camden Tschudi won by pin. At 182, Samson Streachek won by an 8-5 decision. Edward Hajas followed that with a 4-2 decision of his own. Steven hajas and Walker Russek closed up the dual with a couple or first period pins. 

The split on the night puts the Tigers at 5-2 overall. Their next action will be on Friday, January 13 at the Becker Quad where they'll face Becker, Dassel-Cokato, and Royalton-Upsala. 

Delano (DELA) 58.00 Monticello (MONT) 18.00
106: Tyson Kroells (DELA) over Quinn McCalla (MONT) (MD 9-1) 113: Reier Sjomeling (DELA) over Nelson Anderson (MONT) (Fall 4:41) 120: Carson Tschudi (DELA) over Wyatt Kiphuth (MONT) (Fall 1:21) 126: Tanner Kroells (DELA) over Alex Smieja (MONT) (Fall 1:01) 132: Carter Michels (MONT) over   (DELA) (For.) 138: Tucker Sjomeling (DELA) over Carsten Scherber (MONT) (Fall 2:58) 145: Ethan Quast (DELA) over   (MONT) (For.) 152: Camden Tschudi (DELA) over Triston South (MONT) (Fall 1:10) 160: Devon Gaber (MONT) over Eric Rasmussen (DELA) (Fall 1:27) 170: Kyle Nathan (MONT) over Jacob McDonald (DELA) (Fall 3:46) 182: Samson Streachek (DELA) over Matt Baloun (MONT) (Dec 8-5) 195: Edward Hajas (DELA) over Jesse Midas (MONT) (Dec 4-2) 220: Steven Hajas (DELA) over Dylan Evans (MONT) (Fall 0:57) 285: Walker Russek (DELA) over Joe Rose (MONT) (Fall 0:48)

Litchfield (LITC) 33.00 Delano (DELA) 29.00
106: Eddie  Simes (LITC) over Tyson Kroells (DELA) (Dec 6-2) 113: Reier Sjomeling (DELA) over Jerry Simes (LITC) (MD 14-3) 120: Afton Kaping (LITC) over Carson Tschudi (DELA) (Fall 3:32) 126: Tanner Kroells (DELA) over Ezra  Kaping (LITC) (Dec 8-4) 132: Gavin Nelson (LITC) over   (DELA) (For.) 138: Ethan Quast (DELA) over Andrew Loch (LITC) (Fall 1:43) 145: Tucker Sjomeling (DELA) over Max Tibbits (LITC) (Fall 2:46) 152: Sam  Tibbits (LITC) over Camden Tschudi (DELA) (Dec 10-5) 160: Logan Nelson (LITC) over   (DELA) (For.) 170: Jacob McDonald (DELA) over Dylan  Madsen (LITC) (Dec 8-7) 182: Kal Jackman (LITC) over Samson Streachek (DELA) (Dec 12-10) 195: Edward Hajas (DELA) over Logan  Wagner (LITC) (Dec 4-1) 220: Steven Hajas (DELA) over Tristan  Revering (LITC) (MD 18-4) 285: Chase Liestman (LITC) over Walker Russek (DELA) (Fall 2:37)