skip navigation

Tigers Sweep in Dominating Fashion in Orono

By Delano Wrestling, 12/23/16, 9:00AM CST


Delano defeated both Orono and Henry Sibley at a Triangular in Orono

DECEMBER 22, 2016 - ORONO, MN - The Delano Tigers returned to action and put forth a dominating showing at the Orono Triangular which featured Delano, Henry Sibley, and the host Orono Spartans. The Tigers defeated Henry Sibley 50-21 and they defeated Orono 67-9.

The first dual for the Tigers was with Henry Sibley. The Tigers jumped out to a 22-0 lead through the first four bouts. Clete Scherer recorded his first varsity win with a 2nd period pin. Reier Sjomeling followed with a pin of his own; Carson Tschudi won by a 10-1 major decision; and Tanner Kroells got a 3rd period pin. After a forfeit at 132, the Tigers went on another roll with Tucker Sjomeling and Ethan Quast getting first period pins and Camden Tschudi winning by a 9-1 major decision. The tail end of the dual was highlighted by a hard-fought 9-7 victory by Samson Streachek at 182. Steven Hajas won by pin at 220, and Walker Russek closed it up with a 5-2 decision and sealed the victory.

In the second dual of the night versus Orono, the Tigers rolled out to a 51-0 lead through nine weight classes. They got forfeit wins from Tyson Kroells, Dylan McIntire, Reier Sjomeling, and Carson Tschudi. Tanner Kroells won by a 13-4 major decision. Ethan Quast won by forfeit. Tucker Sjomeling won by a 2nd period pin. Camden Tschudi won by a technical fall (16-1). And Hayden Lynch won by forfeit. Down the stretch, Samson Streachek won by forfeit, Edward Hajas won by a 12-1 major decision, and Walker Russek won by forfeit.

The wins move the Tigers to 4-1 overall and 2-0 in the WCC East. Delano travels to Fargo, ND next week to compete in the Rumble on the Red Championships.

Full Boxscores:

Delano - 50
Henry Sibley - 21

106: Clete Scherer (DELA) over Imran Mohammed (HESI) (Fall 2:48) 113: Reier Sjomeling (DELA) over Payton Weber-Rolfes (HESI) (Fall 0:13) 120: Carson Tschudi (DELA) over Brandon Lewis (HESI) (MD 10-1) 126: Tanner Kroells (DELA) over Dillon Martinek (HESI) (Fall 5:37) 132: Daryel Bell (HESI) over (DELA) (For.) 138: Tucker Sjomeling (DELA) over Alejandro Omana (HESI) (Fall 1:11) 145: Ethan Quast (DELA) over Tyrik Sann (HESI) (Fall 0:57) 152: Camden Tschudi (DELA) over Christian Ramirez (HESI) (MD 9-1) 160: Bruce Lewis (HESI) over (DELA) (For.) 170: Rafeal Torres (HESI) over Jacob McDonald (DELA) (Fall 0:42) 182: Samson Streachek (DELA) over Nick Belmares (HESI) (Dec 9-7) 195: Elliot Tuvey (HESI) over Edward Hajas (DELA) (Dec 8-4) 220: Steven Hajas (DELA) over Juan Gonzales (HESI) (Fall 3:30) 285: Walker Russek (DELA) over Ben Kemp (HESI) (Dec 5-2)

Delano - 67
Orono - 9

106: Tyson Kroells (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 113: Dylan McIntire (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 120: Reier Sjomeling (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 126: Carson Tschudi (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 132: Tanner Kroells (DELA) over Henry Beck (ORON) (MD 13-4) 138: Ethan Quast (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 145: Tucker Sjomeling (DELA) over Nick Simafranca (ORON) (Fall 3:09) 152: Camden Tschudi (DELA) over John McCuskey (ORON) (TF 16-1 5:05) 160: Hayden Lynch (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 170: Danny Striggow (ORON) over Jacob McDonald (DELA) (Fall 3:34) 182: Samson Streachek (DELA) over (ORON) (For.) 195: Edward Hajas (DELA) over Blaine Bauman (ORON) (MD 12-1) 220: Bobby Striggow (ORON) over Steven Hajas (DELA) (Dec 5-4) 285: Walker Russek (DELA) over (ORON) (For.)